Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title ChapterTwentyTwo-Page417
Description CHAPTER TWENTY TWO The Utah Newspaper Hall Of Fame A group of veteran Utah publishers began formulating plans for the Newspaper Hall of Fame in 1958. Their work was presented for the Board's approval in 1961 and for that of the general membership in 1962. The first honored journalists of the past were installed in the Hall of Fame at the 1962 Winter Convention. Abraham B. (Abe) Gibson of the Pleasant Grove Review chaired the original committee with A. N. (Andy) Rytting of the Tremonton Leader as his co-chairman. Those who contributed their time and talent to the development of the recognition were Alex F. Dunn, Tooele Transcript-Bulletin, Loren L. (Bish) Taylor, Moab Times-Independent, William B. Wallis, Vernal Express and A. Frank Gaisford, American Fork Citizen. Similar programs conducted in other states were studied by the group, with those of Nevada, California and Alabama furnishing the most useful and adaptable material. As they shaped their plan in 1960, the committee worked with the Board of Directors headed by President J. Parr Godfrey. His fellow officers were J. M. Cornwell, vice president; H. C. McConaughy, secretary-treasurer and Jack J. Warner, past president. Other members of the board were C. W. Claybaugh, Joel Dunn, Harold Sumner, H. G. MacKnight, R. LaVaun Cox and William Wilson. On May 20, 1961, the committee appeared before the Board with its redesigned proposal. The Board at that time consisted for the most part of the same members as in 1960. The changes were that Warner, as immediate past president, had relinquished that office to Godfrey and Cox had been succeeded by N. J. Fuellenbach. The plan was accepted without dissent, including a provision that Hall of Fame candidates would not be considered until 10 years after their death. 417
Format application/pdf
Identifier 424-UPA_ChapterTwentyTwo-Page417.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416428
Reference URL