Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title ChapterTwenty-Page385
Description CHAPTER TWENTY The Better Newspaper Contest Attempts to recognize outstanding Utah newspapers took place at least twice in the 1920s, but were hit-or-miss efforts lacking continuity. In 1922, for example, the Moab Times-Independent, published by Loren L. (Bish) Taylor, was awarded a silver cup by Utah State Agricultural College (now Utah State University) for "being of greatest service to the community. " Judging elements were basically those used in determining today's Community Service Award winner. In that same year, an award was given the Beaver Press, published by Timothy Brownhill, for "the best front page makeup." That category, too, is a part of the modern-day competition. Minutes of the 1926 convention reflect that a committee was formed to explore "conditions for awards in excellency in newspaper makeup and subject matter." That effort produced recognition in 1928 for two papers. At that year's summer convention, trophies for "excellence in newspaper publication" were given the Richfield Reaper, published by Dr. C. Max Markus, and the News-Advocate of Price, a predecessor of today's Sun-Advocate. It was published by Grace A. Cooper, widow of H. W. Cooper, who'd died suddenly five years earlier. If similar awards were given in following years, the records have been lost to history. For a period of time, Harrison R. Merrill of Brigham Young University paid tribute to Utah's community newspapers by selecting outstanding front pages. It was by no means a formal competition and those papers cited are not listed in available records. Rarely did news stories mention the award. The 1938 winner, however, was the Price Sun-Advocate, co-published by Val Cowles and Hal MacKnight, and a plaque was presented them at that year's Winter Convention. 385
Format application/pdf
Identifier 392-UPA_ChapterTwenty-Page385.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416396
Reference URL