Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page331
Description STATE CONCLAVES SINCE 1894 association's 60 members were in attendance as old wounds began to heal from the division of thinking which had split USPA. However the atmosphere was still a bit charged and not all registrants were pleased with the direction USPA was taking. Credit was given John E. Jones of Western Newspaper Union for convincing many publishers to attend the convention. Twenty-seventh annual meeting. Saturday, January 24, 1920, Commercial Club, Salt Lake City. James H. Wallis, Vernal Express, was re-elected president for a third term. For the first time, Utah State Press Association conducted a dinner meeting specifically designed to entertain noted state political figures. Called the "Chicken Feed," its bill of fare was described in the title. Over 200 newsmen and guests took part in the evening's banquet, which followed a day of talks and panel discussions featuring association members. A similar banquet had taken place on January 27, 1919 under the association's auspices but not in conjunction with its Winter Convention. Twenty-eighth annual meeting. Saturday, January 22, 1921, Commercial Club, Salt Lake City. James H. Wallis, Vernal Express, was re-elected president for a fourth term, thus exceeding the record of David P. Felt, who had three successive years as the association's leader in 1901-02-03. The second annual "Chicken Feed" was even more successful than that of 1920 with attendance of over 200. Among the dignitaries were Gov. Charles R. Mabey, ex-Governor Arthur L. Thomas, Senate president Thomas E. McKay, Speaker of the House E. R. Callister and Justice Joseph E. Frick of the State Supreme Court. Twenty-ninth annual meeting. Monday and Tuesday, June 5-6, 1922, Hotel Utah, Salt Lake City. William P. Epperson, Kaysville Weekly Reflex, elected president. The convention was a decided departure from past practice, shifted to the city's 331
Format application/pdf
Identifier 339-UPA_Page331.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416342
Reference URL