Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page317
Description STATE CONCLAVES SINCE 1894 eyed, which led to the conclusion that the intentionally humorous language conveyed a message which could be used to thank others for kindness to the association. As a result, the late Darrell Welling of Utah Motor Transport was so-honored the following year; Arthur McQuiddy, public relations director of United States Steel in 1964 and Howard Blood, who held a similar position with then-Mountain Bell (now USWest) in 1965. McQuiddy had taken another position in New York City and received his honor by mail and telephone. He expressed appreciation to convention delegates by Western Union telegram. It's been given without interruption for 35 years, twice in multiple presentations, bringing to 37 the number of recipients. Unofficially, it was also given to three members of Ontario's government in 1963 by H. B. (Jack) Sumner, then UPA's president. A member of an American press delegation touring the Canadian province, he gave the recognition to Bryan L. Cathcart, Guy E. Moore and Colin McDonald. In addition to those cited, it has been presented to: 1966 -Dr. Carlton Culmsee, Utah State University; 1967 - Stellman Cowan, Mountain Fuel; 1968 - Glen Gale, Intertype; 1969 - Karl and Clyde Pannier, Intermountain Stamp and Rod Rasmussen, UPA Clipping Service; 1970 - Casey Bown, Division of Wildlife Resources; 1971 - Jeff Ward, Porte Publishing; 1972 - Kirby Kirkman, Mountain Fuel; 1973 - Grant Pendleton, Utah Power & Light; 1974 - Julian Newman, Western Paper; 1975 - Mason Smith, First Security Corporation; 1976 - Howard and Harold Gerber, Twin Typographers; 1977 - Calvin L. Rampton, Governor of Utah; 1978 - David Bigler, United States Steel; 1979 -Ted Broedlow, Zellerbach Paper; 1980 - Ken Hill, Mountain Bell; 1981 - Tony Tolich, Dixon Paper; 1982 - Larry Brower, First Security Corporation; 1983 - Todd Smith, Western Paper; 1984 - Grant Callister, Continental Telephone; 1985 - Robert Tingey, Dixon Paper; 1986 - Merwin Fairbanks, Brigham Young University; 1987 - John Keahey, Mountain Fuel; 1988 -R. LaVaun Cox, Questar Corporation; 1989 - Suzanne Dean, 317
Format application/pdf
Identifier 326-UPA_Page317.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416328
Reference URL