Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page361
Description STATE CONCLAVES SINCE 1894 officer of Suburban Newspapers of America, conducted a two-part seminar on "Newspaper Business Management." William E. Mullen, successor to T. A. (Ted) Serrill as executive vice president of National Newspaper Association, updated Utahns on the Washington, D. C. scene Eighty-sixth annual meeting. Friday, Saturday, Sunday, February 9-10-11, 1979, Little America Hotel. Richard M. Buys, Wasatch Wave, elected president. Ferdinand Menden-hall, editor of the Valley News, Van Nuys, California, was the keynote speaker, discussing controlled circulation. Justice Frank Wilkins, Utah Supreme Court, appraised the status of Utah's judicial system and Gov. and Mrs. Scott Matheson repeated their successful roundtable discussion of the previous year. James Rand, U&I Sugar Company executive, spoke on "Attracting and Holding Personnel" and Dr. Roger Nelson, University of Utah, talked on "Management by Objective." Emmett F. Butler, longtime weekly newspaper editor and a nationally-known humorous speaker from Newton, Iowa provided a lighter touch and Gary Wellman, Compugraphic Corporation, elaborated on "Typography and Cost-Cutting Techniques." Eighty-seventh annual meeting. Friday, Saturday, Sunday, February 8-9-10, 1980, Little America Hotel. Richard L. Bjornn, Salt Lake Times, was elected president. Utah's first step in a nationwide essay contest relating to guarantees to Americans under the First Amendment to the Constitution was won by Eva VanWagoner of Magna. Her entry, which was given a $100 prize, moved on to compete with winners from other states. Howard Jarvis, president of the California-based American Tax Limitation Movement and a past president of USPA, was one of several speakers. Others were Allen H. Neuharth, president of American Newspaper Publishers Association and chairman of Gannett Corporation, publisher of USA Today, Dr. Alan Foster of the Harris Corporation and 361
Format application/pdf
Identifier 368-UPA_Page361.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416372
Reference URL