Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page314
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION era Utah News; 1989 - Charles C. Claybaugh, Box Elder News-Journal; 1990 - Richard M. Buys, Wasatch Wave; 1991 - Adrien F. Taylor, Moab Times-Independent; 1992 - Allan R. Gibson, Nephi Times-News; 1993 - Susan B. Dutson, Millard County Chronicle-Progress; 1994 - Paul J. (Jerry) O'Brien, Salt Lake Tribune; 1995 - P. Larry Stahle, Weber State Signpost; 1996 -Wm. James Mortimer, Deseret News. Those who have been given the John E. Jones Award are: 1976 - Abraham B. Gibson, Pleasant Grove Review; 1977 -William V. Wilson, Millard County Progress; 1978 - Norman J. Fuellenbach, Richfield Reaper; 1980 - M. Neff Smart, University of Utah; 1982 - Jack A. Spencer, Universal Microfilm; 1984 -Julian Newman, Western Paper Company; 1986 - Clarin D. Ashby, Deseret Generating and Transmission Company; 1987 -J. M. (Jim) Cornwell, Hall of Fame Chairman; 1988 - J. P. Denner, Salt Lake Commercial Artist; 1990 - R. LaVaun Cox, Questar Corporation; 1992 - Ken O. Hill, USWest; 1992 - Dr. Quintus Wilson, University of Utah; 1993 - Brett Bezzant, Newtah News Group. A citation given only to non-members who have contributed to the success of UPA in numerous ways is the Honorary Publisher Award. Many, although not all, of its recipients have been associate members of UPA, a long-standing designation of considerable importance to the association. Records reflect C. R. Kem of New York & Utah Paper Co. and J. C. Lambert of Lambert Paper Co., who had petitioned the association for "privileges of the floor without the right to vote" were named Honorary Members during the 1901 convention at Salt Lake City's Kenyon Hotel. At that time, too, similar status was accorded Western Newspaper Union (today's Western Paper Company) without an individual being cited. The designation was the forerunner of Associate Membership, which in more recent years has been granted acceptable individuals or firms upon payment of annual dues. In 1901, it was an honorarium not involving payment. "Western," as its name has long been abbreviated by UPA 314
Format application/pdf
Identifier 323-UPA_Page314.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416325
Reference URL