Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page312
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION NEA) in Portland, Oregon, July 19-22. The decision was made to support J. M. (Jim) Cornwell of Murray, who was installed as NNA's president during the Portland conclave. The 38 conventioneers travelled together to and from Oregon by air. State conventions are the background for all special recognitions of Utah Press Association. The highest accolade for one of its members is the Master Editor & Publisher Award, given annually to an individual whose career follows the precepts inscribed on the emblematic plaque, which are: "Worked hard, lived honorably, thought soundly, influenced unselfishly and is entitled to the highest honor in his (or her) profession." Instituted in 1962, the award has subsequently been presented each year without interruption. Special recognition is conveyed to both non-members and members through the John E. Jones Award, begun in 1976. It recognizes service to the newspaper industry in general and UPA in particular and is given only when the Special Awards Committee determines a worthy candidate has been nominated. The recognition was presented 12 times in the first 16 years of its existence. A reflection of his years of work in UPA is the fact Abraham B. (Abe) Gibson was the first recipient of both the Master Editor & Publisher and John E. Jones Awards. Those who have been honored with the Master Editor & Publisher Award are: 1960 - Abraham B. Gibson, Pleasant Grove Review; 1961 - Loren L. Taylor, Moab Times-Independent; 1962 - Alex Dunn, Tooele Transcript-Bulletin; 1963 - A. Frank Gaisford, American Fork Citizen; 1964 - William B. Wallis, Vernal Express; 1965 - Jane Wilson, Millard County Progress; 1966 - Morgan Rollo, Iron County Record; 1967 -Andrew N. Rytting, Tremonton Leader; 1968 - Frank W. Mountford, Washington County News; 1969 - Harrison Cono-ver, Springville Herald; 1970 - Charles W. Claybaugh, Box Elder News-Journal; 1971 - Howard W. Cherry, Gunnison Valley News; 1972 - Samuel J. Taylor, Moab Times-Independ- 312
Format application/pdf
Identifier 321-UPA_Page312.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416323
Reference URL