Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page192
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION made him less-than-qualified to become its head. UPA was facing a challenging year and needed competent leadership; the Moab co-publisher was felt to be the right person. She handled a difficult term with considerable skill. The list of Past Presidents is replete with relatives and lineal descendants. Reflecting such family continuity are these examples: Separated by the longest interval in time were William Buys of the Wasatch Wave, the 1904 president, and his great grand-nephew, Richard M. Buys, also publisher of the Wave, who was UPA's leader 75 years later. But the Wave wasn't in the Buys family all that time; in fact, passed through several different publishers before the founder's progeny returned to the helm. James H. Wallis (1918-21) was followed in 1936 by his son-in-law, George Harrison, and in 1958 by his son, William Wallis. In turn, his grandson, Jack, was president in 1971 and his great-grandson, Steven, in 1996. William P. Epperson was the 1922 head; his son, Clyde, led the association in 1929 and in 1945 UPA's prexy was W. P.'s nephew, Albert. In 1937, Charles Van Keuren Saxton, a son-in-law of William Epperson, was USPA's president. Karl Carlton, leader in 1923, was the father of Walter L. Carlton, 1941. A. B. (Abe) Gibson, who led the organization in 1930, was followed by his brother, Roy, in 1955. Roy's son, Allan, was the 1985 president. Loren L. (Bish) Taylor was prexy in 1932; his son, Sam, held the office in 1965 and in 1988 and 1993, Sam's wife, Adrien, led the press group. Elisha Warner, the 1940 president, was the father of Max, who held office in 1956 and an uncle of Jack Warner (1959). Frank S. Beckwith, leader in 1942, was later followed by his daughter, Sue Dutson, who became UPA's first female president in 1982. Harrison R. Conover (1943) and Martin (1970) were father- 192
Format application/pdf
Identifier 200-UPA_Page192.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416203
Reference URL