Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page138
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION new building remain in close proximity to the Newspaper Agency Corporation, which produces both The News and The Salt Lake Tribune under a Joint Operating Agreement that began in 1952. The NAC is responsible for all advertising, circulation and production work of the two papers. Production methods have changed dramatically through the years since Willard Richards, the first editor, directed operations. A former New England physician, Richards was editor from 1850 to 1851. Many editors and publishers have followed. They (and their years of service) include Albert Carrington, 1854-59; Elias Smith, 1859-63; Albert Carrington, 1863-67; George Q. Cannon, 1867-73; David O. Calder, 1873-77; George Q. Cannon, 1877-79; Charles W. Penrose, 1880-92; John Nicholson, 1880's, George C. Lambert, 1885; John Q. Cannon, 1892-98; J. M. Sjodahl, 1898-99; Charles W. Penrose, 1899-1907; J. J. Sjodahl, 1907-14; E. LeRoy Bourne, 1914-17; John Q. Cannon, 1918-22; Harold Goff, 1922-28; Alexander Buchanan, 1928; John Q. Cannon, 1928-31; Joseph J. Cannon, 1931-34; James A. Langton, 1934-43; David A. Robinson, 1943-46 and Elder Mark E. Peter sen, who was both editor and publisher from 1946 to 1952, and as a member of the Church's Council of the Twelve was also chairman of the company's board of directors. He was succeeded as editor and general manager by O. Preston Robinson who served from 1952 until 1964. The next editor and general manager, E. Earl Hawkes, served from 1962 until his death in 1974, at which time William B. Smart was appointed as editor and general manager, a position he held until his retirement in 1986. The separate position of publisher was created in 1978 with the appointment of Wendell J. Ashton, who served until his retirement in 1985. Since then Wm. James Mortimer has served as publisher and editor. The board of directors is presently chaired by President Thomas S. Monson, first counselor in the First Presidency of the church, who was a Deseret News employee and manager 138
Format application/pdf
Identifier 147-UPA_Page138.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416149
Reference URL