Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page356
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION Weekly Newspaper Publishers in Their Communities" and Congressman Laurence Burton of Utah's first district provided a Washington update. Seventy-eighth annual meeting, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, February 19-20-21, 1971, Hotel Utah. Jack R. Wallis, Vernal Express, was elected president. Panels were frequent on the program. A legislative session chaired by Sam Taylor, Moab Times-Independent, included Gov. Calvin L. Rampton, Sen. Thorpe Waddingham and Speaker of the House Richard Howe. Jack Sumner, Orem-Geneva Times, led a panel on the topic, "A Look at the Scene Today." Members were Klien Rollo, Iron County Record, Bob Finney, Price Sun-Advocate and Joel Dunn, Tooele Transcript-Bulletin. A Young Ideas Panel included Mark Fuellenbach, Richfield Reaper, Charles (Tuff) Claybaugh, Box Elder News-Journal and Vance Wilson, Mil-lard County Progress. Dr. Owen Olpin of the University of Utah law school spoke on "Free Press on Environmental Law." Seventh-ninth annual meeting. Friday, Saturday, Sunday, February 11-12-13, 1972, Ramada Inn, Salt Lake City. J. Howard Stahle, Roy Sun-Chronicle, elected president. Nationally-syndicated columnist Jack N. Anderson, author of Washington Merry-Go-Round, returned home to Salt Lake City as a principal speaker. He had launched his journalistic career on the Murray Eagle while a Granite high school student, Anderson said. The longtime observer of the Washington scene Opposite page> - PAST PRESIDENTS WHO WERE in attendance at the 1971 convention assembled for the camera at the then-traditional Sunday morning breakfast. Back row, listed with the community represented when president, are, from left: H. C. McConaughy, Morgan; A. B. Gibson, Nephi; Martin Conover, Springville; Wes Cherry, Salina; Cliff Memmott, Helper; William Wilson, Fillmore; Clarin Ashby, Roosevelt and Harrison Conover, Springville. Center row: John Stahle, Jr., Bountiful; Harold (Jack) Sumner, Orem; E. Russell Innes, Lehi and J. Parr Godfrey, Midvale. Front row: A. Frank Gais-ford, American Fork; Jim Cornwell, Murray; Norman Fuellenbach, Richfield and C. W. Claybaugh, Brigham City. 356
Format application/pdf
Identifier 363-UPA_Page356.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2021-05-06
ID 416367
Reference URL