Update item information
Title UPA A Century Later
Subject Newspapers; Newspaper publishing; Journalism
Creator Utah Press Association
Publisher Utah Press Association
Contributors Cornwell, J. M.
Date 1996
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Identifier PN4844.U8 U8 1996
Source Original Book: UPN A Century Later
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution University of Utah
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 21.5 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
ARK ark:/87278/s6319w0z
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2005-05-10
ID 416710
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page186
Description UTAH PRESS ASSOCIATION USPA's annual meetings although in a rather unfavorable light when a disagreement divided the state's publishers in 1912. Wives of publishers also began to take part in USPA's activities in that era. Most spouses were, in fact, staff members of community newspapers and contributed knowledgeably to editorial, circulation and even production discussions. By 1925, the expertise of feminine participants was being sought on programs and that year Mrs. Grace Cooper of the News-Advocate in Price and Mrs. Clement B. (Edna) Wallace of the Summit County Bee in Coalville were both speakers. A year later Mrs. Cooper was elected secretary-treasurer, a position she held until 1931, even after the Price newspaper had been sold. Until that time, she'd been listed on the masthead as General Manager, a title she'd acquired following the 1923 death of her publisher/husband. Mrs. Cooper was the last lady to hold elective office in the association until 1980 and 1981, when Sue Dutson of the Millard County Chronicle-Progress and Bette Cornwell of the Murray Eagle were, in succession, elected secretary. In that order, both would go on to head the organization in 1982 and 1983, the first feminine presidents. While many notable publishers of yesteryear are commemorated in the Hall of Fame, there were others whose journalistic achievements deserve recollection. In most instances, only the brevity of their Utah careers keeps them from Hall of Fame consideration. Women as publishers aren't unusual in the history of Utah journalism. In addition to those afore-mentioned, history lists Elizabeth Worthen, founder of the early-day Panguitch Progress, and her successors, Gladys and Winnie DeLong; Helen Spaulding of the Green River Dispatch; Mrs. Elnora Peters of the Garfield County News; Eva B. Swanson of the Piute County News; Orsa Cherry of the Gunnison Valley News and the Salina Sun; Jane Wilson of the Millard County Progress; Rula Fuellenbach, Richfield Reaper; Joyce Martin, San Juan Record; Lisa Corral of the Beaver Press; Diorah Jean Bracken of the Grantsville Gazette; Adrien Taylor, Moab Times-Independent; Dixie Brunner of the Southern Utah News 186
Format application/pdf
Identifier 194-UPA_Page186.jpg
Source Original Book: UPA A Century Later
Setname uu_upa
Date Created 2005-05-10
Date Modified 2021-05-06
ID 416197
Reference URL