Chapter 178_page_232

Update item information
Title (1866) Acts, Resolutions and Memorials, Passed at the Several Annual Sessions of the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Utah, 1866
Subject Law
Description (1866) The Fifteenth Legislature, 1865, passed an act to print the laws as prepared and reported by the Joint Committee on Revision and Compilation, including laws of the current session. No 1865 session law was printed because these acts were incorporated into the 1866 compilation.
Publisher Legislative Assemblye of the State of Utah
Date 1866
Type Text
Format image/jpeg
Digitization Specifications Photocopies scanned with Epson Expression 1640 XL and saved as 400 ppi uncompressed TIFF's. Display JPEG's created in PhotoshopCS at 800 x 1125 ppi
Identifier KFU30 1866 .A193
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, S.J. Quinney College of Law. All rights reserved
Holding Institution S.J. Quinney College of Law, The University of Utah, South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT
Source Physical Dimensions 15 cm x 23.5cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
Scanning Technician Amanda Wilson
ARK ark:/87278/s6w37x2b
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-11-15
Date Modified 2006-01-25
ID 717212
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Chapter 178_page_232
Description 232 LAWS OF UTAH. CHAPTER CLXXVIII. MEMORIAL to the Honorable William Demiison, Postmaster General. Your Memorialists, the Governor and Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Utah, in view of the rapid development of settlements in the northern and southern portions of this Territory, aud a corresponding increase and extent of business relations, would respectfully ask for increase aud change of mail service, as named in this memorial: From Great Salt Lake City, in Great Salt Lake county, to St. George in Washington county, a tri-weekly service, a distance of 330 miles, via Fort Union and Drapersville in Great Salt Lake county, and Lehi, American Fork, Pleasant Grove, Provo, Springville, Spanish Fork, Payson aud Santaquin, in Utah county, Mona, Nephi, and Chicken Creek, in Juab County, and Scipio, Cedar Springs, Fillmore, Meadow Greek, Petersburg and Cove Greek, in Mil lard county, and Pine Creek, Indian Creek and Beaver, in Beaver county, Paragnona, Parowan; Summit Creek, Cedar City, Kauarra, in Iron county, Tokerville, Harrisburg, Washington, Middleton and St. George, County Seat of Washington county. Your Memorialists ask for a weekly instead of a semi-monthly service on the route between St. George and Los Angelos, California, via Millersburg and St. Joseph to St. Thomas on the Muddy, distance 100 miles; mail to leave St. George, Thursday, 7 o'clock a. m. Also on the following new routes we need weekly service: From St. George, via Santa Clara, Clover Valley and Pannacca, to Pahranagat, distance 140 miles; mail to leave St. George, Thursday at 6 o'clock a. m., and Pahranagat, Monday, 6 a. m. •Also weekly service from Logan, in Cache county, via Clarkston, to Weston, distance twenty-eight miles; and "from Franklin, Cache county, to Oxford, distance twenty-five miles; to leave Logan on Saturday, at seven o'clock a.m., to arrive at Clarkston at one o'clock p.m., thence to "Weston, to arrive at five o'clock p.m., same day; to leave Weston at seven o'clock a.m., on Sunday, each week, via Clarkston, to arrive at Logan at five o'clock p.m., same day; to leave Franklin at seven o'clock a.m., on Sunday, each week, to arrive at Oxford at five o'clock, same day; to leave Oxford at seven o'clock a.m., Monday, each week, to* arrive at Franklin at five o'clock p.m., same day. Also semi-weekly service on route from Gunnison, in Sanpete county, via Salina, Glenwood, Richfield, County Seat of Sevier county, Alma, Marysvale, Circleville, County Seat of Piute county, Paogwitch, Berryville, Kanab, Pipe Spring, Shirt Creek, Grafton, County Seat of Kane county, Duncan, Dalton, Virgen City and Baker's Spring and Washington, to St. George, 275 miles; mail to leave Gunnison and St. George every Monday aud Thursday, at six a.m. Also semi-weekly mail from Nephi, Juab county, to Manti, Sanpete county, via Fountain Green, Moroni and Ephraim, to Manti, 43 miles, leaving Nephi every Wednesday and Saturday, at six a.m.; and to leave Manti every Thursday and Monday at six a.m. Also semi-weekly service to be put upon the route from Huntsville, in Weber county, via Ithica, Swan Creek, Fish-haven, St. Charles, Bloomington, Paris, Liberty, Ovid, Montpelier and Rennington, in Richland county. For Postmasters on said routes the following names are suggested: For Ithica,...........................Joseph Moore. " Swan Creek,..................Phineas W. Cook. " Fish-haven,..................Preston Thomas. " St. Charles,................;...Richard R. Hopkins. " Bloomington,................James H. Hart. " Paris,.............................Joseph C. Rich. " Liberty,.........................Solomon Hale. " Ovid,.............................Neils Ch. Edlefsen. " Montpelier,.........................Morris Phelps. " Bennington,........................Edward Merrill. Your prompt and kind consideration of the subject matter of the foregoing Memorial is most respectfully solicited, and, as in duty bound, your Memorialists will ever pray. George A. Smith, President of the Council. John Taylor, Speaker of the House of Representatives. Charles Dubkee, Governor. ,
Format image/jpeg
Identifier 242_Chapter 178_page_232.jpg
Source Original Book: Acts, Resolutions and Memorials, Passed at the Several Annual Sessions of the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Utah, 1866
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-11-15
Date Modified 2005-11-15
ID 717196
Reference URL