Pioneers Remembered

Update item information
Title Saga of the Sanpitch Vol 27
Subject Pioneers
Description Stories and poems about early Southern Utah Pioneers
Publisher Snow College
Date 1995
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Language eng
Rights Management Snow College
Holding Institution Snow College
ARK ark:/87278/s60863fm
Setname snowc_sts
Date Created 2005-03-01
Date Modified 2005-03-01
ID 326335
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Pioneers Remembered
Description In February 1909, Mt Pleasant Mayor James Monson and Bishops Daniel Rasmussen and James Larsen called a mass meeting to suggest the community build a monument to honor the pioneers who settled Mt Pleasant in 1859 The matter of raising funds was a very important question because they wanted to erect something that they would always be proud of The city was in no condition to give assistance to the cause, so they invited the descendants of those stalwart men and women to help Pioneers and their descendants who were available held a meeting and agreed to finance this worthy project without seeking outside assistance It was agreed to restrict the number who would be regarded as pioneers to those who came here in 1859, that being the first year of the settlement. It was agreed that they would build a monument at a cost of $1600 and assess an amount of $35 to each family whose father's name would be inscribed on the stone. The committee whose honor it was to consummate the work consisted of James Larsen, Andrew Madsen, Daniel Rasmussen, Ferdinand Ericksen and C W. Anderson. They were as united in rearing this monument as the early settlers were in building the fort wall They were indebted to a record kept that listed the names of the first settlers Names appearing on the monument are William Seely, Neils P. Madsen, Rasmus Frandsen, M.C. Christensen, Nathan Staker, Jens C Jensen, John Tidwell, Henry Wilcox, Peter Monsen, John Carter, Orange Seely, George Coates, George Farnsworth, Jens Larsen, Peter Hansen, Svend Larsen, Rudolphus R Bennett, Christian Brotherson, Daniel Page, Neils Wildergren Anderson, .Andrew Madsen, Neils Madsen. Christian Madsen, John Meyrick, Jens Jorgensen, Jens Jensen. Peter Johansen, Neils Johansen. Justus Seely, James K. McClenahan. John Waldermar, Christian Hansen, Henry Ericksen, Andrew P. Oman, C.P. Anderson, Christian Jensen, James Harvey Tidwell, Martin Aldrich, Jefferson Tidwell, Paul Dehlin, Mortin Rasmussen, Hans C. H. Beck, Peter M Peel, Erick Gunderson, Alma Zabriskie, Soren Jacob Hansen, John F. Fechser, Andrew P. Jensen. William Morrison, Hans Y. Simpson. George Frandsen, Peter J Jensen, Jacob Christensen, Frederick P Neilson, John L Ivie, Christian Neilson Christensen, Isacc Allred, and Andrew Johansen It was altogether fitting to remember the labor of those opening up a new country amid the vicissititudes of pioneer life They made habitable for us this new country and laid a foundation for all the comforts we enjoy today They suffered extreme poverty and were in constant fear of attack from Indians The work was completed and the beautiful monument of white bronze metal was dedicated July 6, 1909. A three day celebration was held, complete with parade, bands, military marches, programs with eloquent orations, dance, and sweet music that filled the air. After this celebration, Andrew Madsen proposed that a permanent organization be formed The name of Mt Pleasant Pioneer Historical Association was adopted, and it was decided that a homecoming would be held annually in March. Continuing since that time 12
Format application/pdf
Identifier 022_Pioneers Remembered.jpg
Source Saga of the Sanpitch 27
Setname snowc_sts
Date Created 2005-02-23
Date Modified 2005-02-23
ID 326299
Reference URL