Contents

Early History-Business-Industries in Our Town

Update item information
Title Saga of the Sanpitch Vol 25
Subject Pioneers
Description Stories and poems about early Southern Utah Pioneers
Publisher Snow College
Date 1993
Type Text
Format image/jpeg
Language eng
Rights Management Snow College
Holding Institution Snow College
ARK ark:/87278/s6nz85tx
Setname snowc_sts
Date Created 2005-03-01
Date Modified 2005-03-01
ID 324626
Reference URL https://collections.lib.utah.edu/ark:/87278/s6nz85tx

Page Metadata

Title Early History-Business-Industries in Our Town
Description EARLY HISTORY-BUSINESS-INDUSTRIES IN OUR TOWN Jessie Oldroyd Non-Professional Third Place Essay In the beginning, a green, pretty valley nestled at the foot of the Sanpitch Mountains, and the majestic Mount Nebo to the north was just waiting and ready for new pioneer settlers. It was March, 1859. Into this fertile valley came George Washington Johnson and his son, Amos Johnson, having been sent by the leaders of the LDS Church, to explore this valley for a settlement for the early pioneer people. There must have been sagebrush, trees, and other bushes, but to the west, green grass, green fields, fed by a fountain of clear, pure water-Fountain Green, they thought. What an appropriate name for this valley, soon to be a settlement, a home for the home-loving people. The Johnsons' home, at this time, was in Santaquin, then called Summit Creek. Mr. Johnson was bom in the state of New York. He later moved to Nauvoo where he was caretaker of the Temple. His travels and experiences were varied, so that when he came to the Utah area, he was well equipped to start new settlements and to be aware of the Indians and dangerous situations at that time. In July 1859, Mr. Johnson and his son again returned to this valley, at that time, Uintah Springs. They secured the help of Albert Pettie, surveyor from Manti, and a plat for the town was chained, and the name, christened Fountain Green. In August Mr. Johnson, with his family, returned to the townsite and built the first log cabin, it was located on the comer of the present Irvin P. Oldroyd home. More settlers came, the little town grew, and in May 1862, Fountain Green was organized as a ward with Robert L. Johnson as Bishop, a position he held for twenty-one years. His wife, Polly Ann Johnson, was the Relief Society President for about thirty years. Bless her! These early settlers, like those of other early settlements, brought with them from their homelands skills, abilities, talents, and building ideas for their new homes. They used these talents and abilities, with their personal characteristics, ambition, desires and ideals to build a safe place to live, to grow, to develop and to »
Format image/jpeg
Identifier 081_Early History-Business-Industries in Our Town.jpg
Source Saga of the Sanpitch Vol 25
Setname snowc_sts
Date Created 2005-02-19
Date Modified 2005-02-19
ID 324544
Reference URL https://collections.lib.utah.edu/ark:/87278/s6nz85tx/324544