Concerning Particular Organized Territories_page 047

Update item information
Title (1876) The Compiled Laws of the Territory of Utah, Containing All the General Statutes Now In Force, 1876
Subject Law
Description (1876) The twenty-second legislature in 1876 authorized compilation of all statutes then in force. The poorly organized compilations of 1855, 1866 and 1870 finally gave way to a modernized codification topically arranged by broad subject titles, in some cases, more specific chapters within titles, and numbered sections. Additionally, each section throughout the compilation is given a separate consecutive number. Reference is made to these in a content summary preceding each title or section. A much more thorough index is provided. No separate session law volume was published for 1876.
Date 1876
Type Text
Format image/jpeg
Digitization Specifications Original scanned with an Epson Expression 1640 XL flatbed scanner and saved as 400 ppi uncompressed TIFF's. Display JPEG's created in PhotoshopCS at 800 x 1125 ppi
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, S.J. Quinney College of Law. All rights reserved
Holding Institution S.J. Quinney College of Law, The University of Utah, South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0730
Source Physical Dimensions 14 cm x 23 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
Scanning Technician Amanda Wilson
ARK ark:/87278/s67d2vv4
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-11-29
Date Modified 2006-01-25
ID 719633
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Concerning Particular Organized Territories_page 047
Description APPLICABLE TO UTAH. 47 Sec. 1910. Each of the District Courts in the Territories mentioned in the preceding section shall have and exercise the same jurisdiction, in all cases arising under the Constitution and laws of the United States, as is vested in the circuit and district courts of the United States; and the first six days of every term of the respective district courts, or so much thereof as is necessary, shall be appropriated to the trial of causes arising under such Constitution and laws; but writs of error and appeals in all such cases may be had to the supreme court of each Territory as in other cases. Sec. 1912, The supreme and district courts of each Territory, and the respective judges thereof, except for Idaho and Montana, may grant writs of habeas corpus in all cases in which the same are grant-able by the judges of the United States in the District of Columbia. Sec. 1913. The Legislative Assemblies of New Mexico, Utah, Washington, Colorado, Dakota, Arizona, and Wyoming Territories, respectively, may organize, alter, or modify, the several judicial districts thereof, in such manner as each Legislative Assembly deems proper and convenient. Sec. 1916. The Governor of Utah Territory shall assign the district judges of that Territory to their respective districts, and appoint the time and place of holding court in each of such districts, not exceeding two terms in each district in any one year. (1) Sec. 1922. The Councils of New Mexipo and Utah shall each consist of thirteen members, and the House of Representatives of twenty-six members. (The balance of the section refers to the Legislative Assemblies of the other Territories). Sec. 1926. Justices of the peace, in the Territories of New Mexico, Utah, Washington, Dakota, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming, shall not have jurisdiction of any matter in controversy where the debt or sum claimed exceeds one hundred dollars. (2) Sec. 1935. There shall be appropriated, annually, one thousand dollars, to be expended by the respective governors, to defray the contingent expenses of New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, Dakota, Arizona, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming, including the salary of the clerk in the executive department of those Territories. Sec. 1939. There shall be appropriated, respectively, for the Territories of New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, Dakota, Arizona, and Wyoming, annually, a sufficient sum, to be expended by the secretary of each Territory herein named, upon an estimate to be made by the Sec- (1) An act of Congress approved June 33,1874, provides that there shall be four terms of the district court in each judicial district, each year. (2) The act of Congress approved June 23,1874, extends the jurisdiction of justices of the peace, in this Territory, " to all cases where the debt or sum. claimed shall be less than three hundred dollars."
Format image/jpeg
Identifier 058_Concerning Particular Organized Territories_page 047.jpg
Source Original Book: The Compiled Laws of the Territory of Utah Containing All the General Statutes Now In Force
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-11-29
Date Modified 2005-11-29
ID 718781
Reference URL