page 180

Download item | Update item information
Title (1849-1851) The State of Deseret - Appendix: Constitution and Ordinances (1849-1851)
Subject Law; Legislation--Utah
Description (1849-1851) Collected by Dale L. Morgan, these were published as an appendix to The State of Deseret, 8 Utah Hist. Q. 155-233 (1940), and later reprinted in THE STATE OF DESERET (Logan, Utah: Utah State University Press with the Utah Historical Society, 1987). In 1849 a constitution was drafted for a provisional government organized under the name "State of Deseret." Its legislature met on several occasions from July 2, 1849 until March 28, 1851, when it was dissolved upon announcement of the federal act to establish a territorial government (the "Organic Act").
Publisher Utah State Historical Society
Contributors Morgan, Dale R.
Date 1947
Type Text
Format image/jpeg
Digitization Specifications Photocopies scanned with an Epson Expression 1640 XL flatbed scanner and saved as 400 ppi uncompressed TIFF's. Display JPEG's created in PhotoshopCS at 800 x 1125 ppi.
Source Utah Historical Quarterly Volume 8 Numbers 23-24
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, S.J. Quinney College of Law. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution S.J. Quinney College of Law, The University of Utah, South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0730.
Source Physical Dimensions 15 cm x 2 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
Scanning Technician Amanda Wilson; Jan Robertson
ARK ark:/87278/s6zw1mpz
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-12-05
Date Modified 2012-06-05
ID 719739
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title page 180
Description 180 Utah Historical Quarterly Temple Block, in Great Salt Lake City; and terminating at the Town of Provo, the County seat of Utah County. Sec. 2. Also a State road, of the same width, from the Temple Block in Great Salt Lake City, to the County seat of Tuilla County; and the State Commissioner on public roads, is hereby required to take due notice, and govern himself according to the Ordinance in such case made and provided, relating to his duties, in locating the same. Approved Feb. 1, 1850. AN ORDINANCE PROVIDING FOR THE LOCATION OF COUNTIES AND PRECINCTS THEREIN NAMED, 6c Sec. 1. Be it ordained by the General Assembly of the State of Deseret, that all that portion of country known as Weber Valley, and extending as far south as Stony Creek, and west to the Great Salt Lake, shall be called Weber County. Sec. 2. The County seat of said County shall be located at Ogden City. Sec. 3. The County of Weber shall be divided into three Precincts, as follows:-The City Precinct shall include all of the country lying in said County, between Ogden River and SanHv Creek, all north of Ogden shall be called Ogden Precinct, and all south of the second Creek in said County, Sandy Precinct. Sec. 4. All that portion of country known as the Valley of the Great Salt Lake, and lying south of Stony Creek, shall be called Great Salt Lake County. Sec. 5. The County seat of said County shall be at Great Salt Lake City. \ Sec. 6. Great Salt Lake County shall be divided into five Precincts as follows, to-wit:-All north of the Hot Spring, and west to the Jordan; thence down that river, eight miles; thence west to the Great Salt Lake; to be called North Kanyon Precinct. Sec. 7. City Precinct shall include all that part of said County lying east of Jordan, and between North Kanyon Precinct and the farming lands on the south line of the City, and to the western limits of said County. Sec. 8. All that portion of country known as the farming land east of Jordan, south of City Precincts, and north of the south line of the Big Field, thence to the eastern line of said County, to be known as Farmer's Precinct. Sec. 9. Cotton-wood Precinct shall include all of that portion of said County lying south of Farmer's Precinct, and east of Jordan.
Format image/jpeg
Identifier 028_page 180.jpg
Source Original Journal: Utah Historical Quarterly The State of Deseret
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-12-05
Date Modified 2005-12-05
ID 719668
Reference URL