Board and Members

Download item | Update item information
Title (1849-1851) The State of Deseret - Appendix: Constitution and Ordinances (1849-1851)
Subject Law; Legislation--Utah
Description (1849-1851) Collected by Dale L. Morgan, these were published as an appendix to The State of Deseret, 8 Utah Hist. Q. 155-233 (1940), and later reprinted in THE STATE OF DESERET (Logan, Utah: Utah State University Press with the Utah Historical Society, 1987). In 1849 a constitution was drafted for a provisional government organized under the name "State of Deseret." Its legislature met on several occasions from July 2, 1849 until March 28, 1851, when it was dissolved upon announcement of the federal act to establish a territorial government (the "Organic Act").
Publisher Utah State Historical Society
Contributors Morgan, Dale R.
Date 1947
Type Text
Format image/jpeg
Digitization Specifications Photocopies scanned with an Epson Expression 1640 XL flatbed scanner and saved as 400 ppi uncompressed TIFF's. Display JPEG's created in PhotoshopCS at 800 x 1125 ppi.
Source Utah Historical Quarterly Volume 8 Numbers 23-24
Language eng
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, S.J. Quinney College of Law. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution S.J. Quinney College of Law, The University of Utah, South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0730.
Source Physical Dimensions 15 cm x 2 cm
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor
Scanning Technician Amanda Wilson; Jan Robertson
ARK ark:/87278/s6zw1mpz
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-12-05
Date Modified 2012-06-05
ID 719739
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Board and Members
Description Utah State Historical Society BOARD OF CONTROL (Terms Expiring April 1, 1941) HERBERT S. AUERBACH. Salt Lake City WILLIAM R. PALMER. Cedar City J- CECIL ALTER, Salt Lake City JOEL E. RICKS. Logan MRS. CORNELIA S. LUND. Salt Lake City (Terms Expiring April 1. 1943) C. HENRY ANDERSON. Ogden WILLIAM J. SNOW. Provo A. B. GIBSON. Nephi LEVI EDGAR YOUNG. Salt Lake City FRANK K. SEEGMILLER. Salt Lake City OFFICERS 1939-41 HERBERT S. AUERBACH, President J. CECIL ALTER, Historian and Editor LEVI EDGAR YOUNG. Vice President MARGUERITE L. SINCLAIR. Secretary, Treasurer and Librarian EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE HERBERT S. AUERBACH. Chairman J. CECIL ALTER LEVI EDGAR YOUNG EDITORIAL BOARD J. CECIL ALTER WILLIAM R. PALMER C. HENRY ANDERSON JOEL E. RICKS HERBERT S. AUERBACH FRANK K. SEEGMILLER A- B. GIBSON WILLIAM J. SNOW MRS. CORNELIA S. LUND LEVI EDGAR YOUNG MEMBERSHIP Paid memberships at the required fee of $2.00 a year, will include current subscriptions to the Utah Historical Quarterly. Non-members and institutions may receive the Quarterly at $2.00 a year or 50 cents per quarter for current numbers. (See back page of cover for Publications For Sale). Checks should be made payable to the Utah State Historical Society and mailed to the Secretary-Treasurer, State Capitol, Salt Lake City, Utah. EDITORIAL CONTRIBUTIONS The Society was organized essentially to collect, disseminate and preserve important material pertaining to the history of the State. To effect this end, contributions of manuscripts are solicited, such as old diaries, journals, letters and other writings of the pioneers; also original manuscripts by present day writers on any phase of early Utah history. Treasured papers or manuscripts may be printed in faithful detail in the Quarterly, without harm to them, and without permanently removing them from their possessors. Contributions for the consideration of the Editorial Board, and correspondence relating thereto, should be addressed to the Secretary, Utah State Historical Society, State Capitol, Salt Lake City, Utah.
Format image/jpeg
Identifier 002_Board and Members.jpg
Source Original Journal: Utah Historical Quarterly The State of Deseret
Setname uu_law_uschs
Date Created 2005-12-05
Date Modified 2005-12-05
ID 719642
Reference URL