Page 2

Request archival file or update item information
Title Utah Ski Archives Newsletter: 2003 (Spring), no. 21
Creator Friends of the Utah Ski Archives
Subject Skis and Skiing--Periodicals; Skiing--Utah--History
Description Generic description: The Utah Ski and Snowboard Archives is one of the most comprehensive collections in the entire country for research into the history and development of Utah's prospering winter sports industry. The archives document the history of ski competition on local, national, and international levels; the founding of major resorts; snow safety and avalanche control; ski equipment; ski instruction; freestyle skiing; the 10th Mountain Division; back-country skiing; and virtually every facet of winter sports in Utah and the surrounding region. The archives are the repository for the Salt Lake Winter Olympics Games Bid Committee records and the records of the 2002 games themselves.
Table of Contents 2003 Ski Affair October 23rd at Little America; 2003 Ski Affair Honorary Chairs: Barbara and Jim Gaddis; Corey Engen: 2002 Quinney Award Winner; 2002 Sue Raemer Award; 2002 Ski Affair Lauds Twelve History-Makers
Publisher University of Utah Marriott Library Ski Archives Program
Contributors Mike Korologos
Date 2003-04
Type Text
Format application/pdf
Digitization Specifications Scanned at 400ppi on Epson Expression 1640XL flatbed scanner, and saved as uncompressed TIFF. OCR generated with Abby FineReader 7.0. JPEG display images generated with PhotoShop CS.
Source Accn 1086
Language eng
Relation Is part of: Utah Ski Archives
Is Part of Ski Archive
Rights Management Digital image copyright 2005, University of Utah. All rights reserved.
Holding Institution Special Collections, Marriott Library, University of Utah.
Source Physical Dimensions 22 cm x 28 cm
Newsletter Date Utah Ski Archives Newsletter, Spring 2003, No. 21
Scanning Technician David Sume
Metadata Cataloger Kelly Taylor; David Sume; Kenning Arlitsch; Chris Anderson
ARK ark:/87278/s60v8c32
Setname uum_usan
Date Created 2005-03-16
Date Modified 2015-12-11
ID 190257
Reference URL

Page Metadata

Title Page 2
Description 2003 Ski Affair Honorary Chairs: Barbara and Jim Gaddis In his All-American ski racing days for the University of Utah some four decades ago, Jim Gaddis was perpetually in the lead. He's still at it. Jim and his wife, Barbara, have been named Honorary Chairs for the 2003 Ski Affair. "It's a new position," says Barbara Amidon, 2003 Ski Archives Advisory Board Chair. "Its purpose is to spotlight people who have made significant contributions to skiing and the Ski Affair over many years." A former member of the Ski Archives advisory board, Jim is the recipient of the Sue Raemer Award presented annually at the Ski Affair to the individual who exemplifies the volunteer spirit of the late co-founder of the Ski Archives whose name is on the award. Corey Engen: 2002 Quinney Award Winner The Intermountain West's most prominent ski sport aficionados added the name of Corey Engen to its ranks on October 16, 2002 when he was named recipient of the prestigious S.J. Quinney Award at the J. Willard Marriott Library Ski Archives Ski Affair. Given annually to the individual who has made lifelong contributions to the advancement of skiing, the award was given in recognition of Corey's accomplishments of some 50 years as a coach, ski school director, resort developer and as a competitor. Often referred to as "Baby Brother" by notable brothers the late Alf and Sverre Engen, Corey paid tribute to his older siblings in accepting his award. "They were more than brothers - they were my friends," he told an admiring throng of 600 who gave him a standing ovation. The Engen brothers were charter members of the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame, which was inaugurated last fall and is housed at the Joe Quinney Winter Sports Center/Alf Engen Ski Museum at Utah Olympic Park near Park City. The S.J. and J.E. Quinney Award is named after the late "Joe" and J.E. Quinney, co-founders of the Alta Ski Area and major benefactors of the library's Special Collections. Previous recipients of the award include Alf Engen, Earl Miller, Spence Eccles, Stein Eriksen and Junior Bounous. Janet Lawson, Jody Shrontz, and Corey Engen
Format application/pdf
Identifier 014_Spring2003_no.21_p.2.jpg
Source Utah Ski Archives Newsletter 2003
Newsletter Date Spring2003_no.21_p.2
Setname uum_usan
Date Created 2005-03-11
Date Modified 2005-03-11
ID 190254
Reference URL