National Medals of Science and Technology Awards (2001) Ceremony and Banquet, held June 13, 2002
Update Item Information
Publication Type video
School or College School of Medicine; College of Science
Department Human Genetics; Oncological Sciences; Biology
Program Institute of Human Genetics. Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
Other Author National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
Contributor National Science Foundation; White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
Title National Medals of Science and Technology Awards (2001) Ceremony and Banquet, held June 13, 2002
Date 2002
Description This 51 minutes, 5 seconds video is divided into two parts: the first part is a film introducing the award winners and their achievements; the second is the presentation of the actual awards by George W. Bush, President of the United States. Medal winners were: Mario R. Capecchi for his pioneering work with transgenic mice and gene targeting; Victor A. McKusick for his work on recessive disorders and cataloging recessive disorders; Francisco J. Ayala in molecular biology for his work on malaria; John A. Ewen for his breakthrough work with metallocenes in modifying and developing new plastics; Arun N. Netravali for communications technology and picture transmission; Sydney Pestka for his pioneering work with Interferon and anti-viral therapies; Gene Likens, ecologist and a leading pioneer in the study of acid rain; the Dow Chemical Company; Jerry M. Woodall for his work with compound semiconductors and materials science; Elias M. Stein for his work in the field of harmonic analysis; Calyampudi R. Rao for his pioneering contributions to the foundations of statistical theory and multivariate statistical methodology, and their applications; Ann M. Graybiel for brain research and the basal ganglia and its role in habit formation and in disorders such as Parkinson's disease; Charles D. Keeling for carbon dioxide monitoring and the development of the Keeling curve which measures the progressive buildup of carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, in the atmosphere; George F. Bass, a leading pioneer in the field of modern underwater archaeology; Andreas Acrivos for his work in fluid mechanics; Ernest R. Davidson whose name is associated with both the Davidson correction and the ""Davidson diagonalization"" method; Gabor A Somorjai for pioneering work in surface science and catalysis; Marvin L. Cohen for condensed matter physics, materials science, and atomic binding; and Raymond Davis for his groundbreaking work with solar neutrinos.
Type Image/MovingImage
Publisher National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
Subject Molecular genetics; Gene targeting; Transgenic mice; Gene expression; Genetic engineering; Capecchi, Mario R.; Science - Awards - United States; Awards presentations
Subject MESH Genetic Research; Gene Targeting; Mice, Knockout; DNA Mutational Analysis; Recombination, Genetic; Gene Expression Regulation, Developmental
Language eng
Rights Management (c) National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
Identifier ir-main,1821
ARK ark:/87278/s6m33dgh
Setname ir_uspace
ID 707926
Reference URL
Back to Search Results