Symphony No. 1, Movement I

Update item information
Title Symphony No. 1, Movement I
Alternative Title Symphonies, No. 1, D Major
Creator Mahler, Gustav, 1860-1911
Contributor Abravanel, Maurice, 1903-1993
Publisher Kalmus
Date Digital 2014-02-26
Subject Instrumental Music; Orchestral Music; Symphonies
Keywords Symphonies; Annotated Score; "Titan"
Description This marked score belonged to Maurice Abravanel, conductor of the Utah Symphony from 1947 to 1979. This particular Mahler symphony was performed by the Utah Symphony during Abravanel's tenure six times: January, 1954; February, 1970; April, 1974; February, 1977; July, 1977; and, October, 1979 (source Utah Symphony). Dimensions of the physical score measure 10 inches by 13 inches. The bound score contains several pages of conductors' ephemera, including a handwritten chart detailing the major formal and thematic elements of the symphony. Of particular interest: tipped in to the score between the first and second movements is the "Blumine" movement, which was the original second movement in the original version of the symphony. Mahler's original version included five movements and a program, as follows: Part One: Aus den Tagen der Jugend 1. Frühling und kein Ende 2. Blumine 3. Mit vollen Segeln Part Two: Comedia humana 4. Todtenmarsch in Callots Munier 5. D'all inferno al'Paradiso Post-1894, Mahler published the symphony without the "Blumine" movement, and without the program. *Please note that because the date for this work cannot be determined, we are not able to determine if it is in the public domain; therefore, we have uploaded the first movement only. For perusal and study of the entire symphony, please contact the McKay Library at 801-581-6691.
Type Text
Genre Scores
Format application/pdf
Extent 58,600,000 bytes
Language eng; ger
Rights This material is held by the Emma Ray Riggs McKay Music Library, School of Music, University of Utah. It is provided here solely for the purpose of teaching or individual research. Any other use, including commercial reuse, or other forms of redistribution, requires permission of the McKay Library
Source The Abravanel Studio Collection exists because of the generous donation of Carolyn Abravanel, widow of Maurice Abravanel.
Metadata Cataloger Lisa Chaufty, Director, McKay Music Library,
ARK ark:/87278/s6k38r4r
Setname uu_mckay_asc
Date Created 2014-09-07
Date Modified 2014-09-07
ID 768157
Reference URL
Back to Search Results